Rediscovering The Backyard

At lunch yesterday:

Very

I walked down to North Terrace to shoot architecture around the Museum and State Library.

This included a lot of shots at the buildings on the CBD side of North Terrace, focusing more on the heritage buildings – surprisingly, there are quite a few remaining.

My main focus was oncarved stone and marble. I also got a few interesting shots of the Adelaide ANZAC memorial.

Walking behind Government House I shot a few photos of old street lights – which had new eco-light-bulbs in them!! There is also a few interesting shots of the stone fence around Govt’ House.

Then I walked down to Elder Park and managed to shoot architecture behind Parliament House, the Hyatt, the Convention Centre (right in front, under that huge glass window!!) and the Red,White&Blue blocks behind Parliament House.

I also attempted a few “postcards of Adelaide” down the Torrens – with paddle boats and fountains. I don’t hold out much hope for them – I think I had the wrong settings, but they might be OK.

I also found some white roses, a few bumble bees, and a huge blow-fly, so I tried a few close-up shots – these, yet again, might not have worked, but they were worth trying! There was also a lot of sculpture, a few interesting views of walk-ways around the Hyatt.

All up, about 250 photographs. Less than 15 made their way onto my photo-gallery.

How was your lunch?

Rubbish Box

Every great architect is – necessarily – a great poet. He must be a great original interpreter of his time, his day, his age.
Frank Lloyd Wright

