Should Opportunity Knock

Applying for First Time British Passport

Thanks to a genetic lifeline that goes back two or more generations to the far reaches of the UK, I can get myself a British Passport. I’ve done the research. Here are the prerequisites:

  • Applicants born outside the United Kingdom before 1 January 1983.
  • Eligibility can only be claimed through the father’s line. British nationality is transmitted one generation by descent to an applicant born overseas with a United Kingdom born father. A claim does not usually extend to a United Kingdom born grandfather.
  • However, you may have a claim through your United Kingdom born grandfather if your father was born in a British colony. Some examples of former British Colonies are Barbados, Bermuda, Cyprus, Fiji, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Kenya, Malacca, Malta, Seychelles, Singapore, Trinidad, etc.
  • You are not eligible for British nationality through your United Kingdom born Grandfather if your father was born in Canada, Sri Lanka (formerly Ceylon), New Zealand, Australia, Newfoundland, South Africa, Zimbabwe (formerly Southern Rhodesia), British India or Pakistan.
  • Applicants born outside the United Kingdom after 7 February 1961 but before 1 January 1983, mother born in the United Kingdom.

There’s more information than need be said, but I found it interesting to read. Your choice. While you’re doing that , I’ve printed off ALL the necessary documentation. Anyone care to enlighten me on the horrors of passport applications?

FYI
I’m not going anywhere soon. At least, I don’t believe so! But since I can apply, I will.

