Back From the Past

I’m a little late on this information, but being an original BTTF fanatic (I have all three movies on DVD and a few on VIDEO), it fascinated me to find this entry on wikipedia. I’ve never really followed up to see what interesting articles the internet holds on this amazing movie until today. So wikipedia was the first port of call.

Yes, they supply the simplest information, all of which links back to other sites and internal pages for cross reference on all aspects, thereby giving rebirth to the addict in me. Let’s hope I can escape the past and return to the future.

The original [Back to the Future] attraction opened on May 2, 1991, at Universal Studios Florida. Its success prompted the construction of a nearly identical copy on June 2, 1993 at Universal Studios Hollywood and on March 31, 2001 at Universal Studios Japan. The original ride in Orlando enjoyed almost sixteen years of constant operation before its final closure, to little fanfare, on March 30, 2007, after operating at half capacity for over three months. The Hollywood ride publicly closed on Labor Day, September 3, 2007. In commemoration of its final month of operation, a special event was held with Christopher Lloyd and Bob Gale beginning the countdown to the rides closure.

It’s a sad day when we see the demise of what could only have been a fascinating and exhilarating mini-movie/adventure-ride. I just wish I’d had the chance to experience it at the Universal Studios in Florida. Damn.

Maybe one day it will be restored as a museum piece where I can say to my grandkids, “I was there when Biff Tanen stole the De Lorean DMC-12 from Emmett Brown!”

That’ll be the day. I’m just glad the internet was born to allow me to return to the past and dream of the future, all without leaving my home nor relying on plutonium rods nor having to relive my clothing-fashion back in the 1980’s. There’s no doubt that my generation of men heavily relied on Marty Mcfly, Bill & Ted and Bruce Springsteen to show them how to wear denim jeans, unlaced shoes and unbuttoned shirts!

2 thoughts on “Back From the Past

  1. One of my favorite rides of all time. I was quite saddened when they closed them. Though, to be honest, I never much noticed a difference between the California and Florida versions (the California park even used the same exact footage as Florida). I believe that the ride is still running in Universal Studios Japan (which is in Osaka, and pretty much the same as the US version was).

    Like

  2. Sorry for the late response Dave, it’s been a busy few weeks!

    Being at the bottom of the world (Australia aka ‘Down Under’) means that I have not seen any of these rides in the flesh and have to rely on flickr.com to see blurry visions of people enjoying the amazing ability of a plastic flux-capicator!

    While I’d like the funds to visit and enjoy the exhilaration of these BTTF rides, I fear I may have to keep watching tv-re-runs, DVD and Video (does anyone still do that?) of BTTF. I remember when I got my first Video player I had a BTTF triple-movie weekend!

    It’s a sad world when the whole world is at our finger-tips so we don’t need to step outside our homes!

    Like

Comments are closed.