Verbal Nourishment

Turns out I really need to change my eating habits. Plus a lot of extra exercise. My little trip to the hospital on Monday morning opened some different windows, windows that have led me to figure it’s certainly time to change my lifestyle.

Brake and Slide

For the first twenty years of my life, all was good and healthy. I ran, I walked, I rode my bicycle regularly, I climbed trees and clambered down cliff faces (not quite abseiling, but remarkably similar) on the Murray River. We either walked, bused or cycled three kilometres to school every morning and back again each evening. That’s a lot of exercise.

We ate healthy doses of Spaghetti Bolagniase, Macaroni Cheese, Shepherds Pie, Home-Made bread, and many after-school sultana-bread-and-peanut-butter delights when we got home from primary and high school. Well, I know I did. I still remember the afternoon that us three boys could not find anything edible in the fridge (though there probably was!), so we decided to be slightly inventive with what we had available.

I fear I would have won both the most creative and most disgusting with my afternoon snack: A SAO-biscuit with a dried apricot, MILO-powered-chocolate and a dash of mayonnaise on top. I ate it. I threw up. We never did that again. I’m sure my brothers remember that story slightly different, but it still ends the same.

When left home at sixteen, I lived alone and loved the experience. I ate surprisingly well. My theory was that nobody could stop me from buying the foods I liked, so I did: I bought the best cheeses, the freshest fruit and veg, my meat-supply was ample, and I had eggs, milk, bread and the occasional red wine. When I lived in share accommodation, none of those food groups ever made an appearance in my fridge. I forever lived in fear of having them nicked by jealous house-mates!

But that all came to an abrupt stop when I got married ten years ago. I still cannot fathom why. My lovely wife likes her COON and EDAM cheeses. Not that there is anything wrong them, but they really are boring. I like blue-vein, mozzarella and Swiss. I have an expensive palette! I spent many nights perusing the meat-section at the back of the supermarket looking for prime cuts. Now we mostly go for minced meats for spaghetti and noodle meals. Again, I am not complaining, but oh, for a bit of variety!

Fruit Platter

Our salad bin has potato, carrot, tomato, lettuce, cucumber and little else. I actually like egg-plant, zucchini, sweet-potato and various other rarities. Our fruit-basket usually has banana, apple and grapes when they are in season. Occasionally passion-fruit (kiwi-fruit) make an appearance. Our canned supplies are corn, beetroot, tuna and pasta-sauce.

And now, a few months away from the age of forty, I am reviving my good-eating habits from my post-teenage years. But it’s not quite that simple. I need to replace a few very nice foods for those with more anti-oxidants and lower cholesterol. This should not be too difficult. Let’s see what the internet has said about this:

According to AltMedicine.com, there are plenty of anti-oxidants available in the follow fruits, vegetables and nuts to make the human body feel a whole lot better. Take a good look: These are all easy-to-chop and mix as a salad for any meal of the day, even to graze up on whilst working! Forget the tempting chocolates or the glucose jube’s, I’m adding these to my side-drawer at work:

Small red bean, Wild blueberry, Red kidney bean, Pinto bean, Blueberry, Cranberry, Artichoke (cooked hearts), Blackberry, Prune, Raspberry, Strawberry, Red delicious apple, Granny Smith apple, Pecan, Sweet cherry, Black plum, Russet potato, Black bean (dried), Plum, Gala apple.

But that is not all! The Cleveland Clinic has an extra list of food groups that have higher amounts of anti-oxidants that offer extra benefits to good human health:

  • Vitamin C – Citrus fruits and their juices, berries, dark green vegetables (spinach, asparagus, green peppers, brussel sprouts, broccoli, watercress, other greens), red and yellow peppers, tomatoes and tomato juice, pineapple, cantaloupe, mangos, papaya and guava.
  • Vitamin E – Vegetable oils such as olive, soybean, corn, cottonseed and safflower, nuts and nut butters, seeds, whole grains, wheat, wheat germ, brown rice, oatmeal, soybeans, sweet potatoes, legumes (beans, lentils, split peas) and dark leafy green vegetables.
  • Selenium – Brazil nuts, brewer’s yeast, oatmeal, brown rice, chicken, eggs, dairy products, garlic, molasses, onions, salmon, seafood, tuna, wheat germ, whole grains and most vegetables.
  • Beta Carotene – Variety of dark orange, red, yellow and green vegetables and fruits such as broccoli, kale, spinach, sweet potatoes, carrots, red and yellow peppers, apricots, cantaloupe and mangos.

This should improve my health incredibly. Now to ensure they are in season and available at the Adelaide Central markets. I’m sure they are, but I may have to ask for a few of these, their names are new to me!

Here are some additional sites with information of interest:

Surviving a quick visit to a hospital after collapsing with sweat, lethargy and abdominal problems, I think it’s high time I revised my dietary intake and resumed the eating habits I was taught as a child and kept throughout my pre-marriage years. Today is the day I choose to start this new journey.

Please let it be read that I am not bemoaning my wife’s cooking: She is an excellent cook. Her Christmas delights are to die for, her Tuna Mornay is delicous, as is her Chocolate-Self-Saucing pudding that can be cooked in the microwave in a matter of minutes. Absolutely delicious!

8 thoughts on “Verbal Nourishment

  1. You’ll get there, any adjustment takes practice. The thing is that there are so many different things that can be done to make meals interesting, not the things you tried as a youngster maybe lol.

    Like

  2. Thanks Mal! I imagine it will help me with headaches, stomach-aches plus an attitude adjustment. Chocolate is not a good stimulant for writing, whereas tonight a double dose of tomato and chicken has revived my love of writing. Now that’s food for thought!

    Like

  3. Good luck with your change in diet – you and I appear to share a liking for similar foods. I’d also recommend a diet with lots of papaya (I prefer the red one) – seems to be good for one’s tummy.

    Like

  4. G’day Rantz, thanks for the suggestion. I should know what papaya is, but I had to google it to be sure: Similar to Pawpaw! I LOVE PAWPAW. When I was very young I lived in Brisbane where we had a pawpaw tree right outside the kitchen window. Brings back so many good memories. I bet it costs a fortune here in Adelaide, yet I’ll go looking for some over the next few days. Thanks again!

    Like

  5. Hello Erika, thanks for the positive comment. I intend to keep going with this healthy fruit/veg diet. Meats and bread are important also, but I know I need to have a lot less than I like. Same with chocolate and many sugar-bloated products. Sigh.
    The upside is that good food is good for the mind, thus the depression of no-chocolate will be suppressed by the goodness of wholesome food.
    At least that’s what I hope will happen!

    Like

Comments are closed.