Learn Something New Every Day

Whilst my 2yo son cried for no apparent reason this morning, I quietly said to him … “You have been alive for less than 750 days. That’s 1/50th, a mere 2%, of your potential life. Today is just one day. Tomorrow is another. Let’s put this nappy on, and take another breath.”

It’s easy to forget that every day is a gift.

So often we tell ourselves It’s OK, I will fix/become/change/join/upgrade/update/learn/do it tomorrow – and tomorrow remains tomorrow, the day after the last day, the eighth day we dream of but never see. We keeping putting stuff off, thinking we are safe, that one day that day will come.

And this is despite, thanks to the proximity of everyone on the internet, we see every day that life is NOT forever. We hear and see violence in the middle east, terrorists in stadiums, unfortunate fatal gunshots by children. Despite this knowledge, we think our distance from these activities makes us safe from harm.

So now you know that you have approximately 36,500 days of life: What are you doing with your time?

I say this to myself daily. I have to. I am a Daddy. My two young sons are the horizon that reminds me that it’s worth the journey, and I am their rock to climb, to aspire to, to learn from, to become men themselves.

My 2yo son clearly didn’t understand much of the words I said. Yet he heard the the sombre tone in Daddy’s reassuring voice, and slowly calmed down. After a dry nappy was attached, warm clothes adorned, and tears wiped away … we hugged me and said in his beautiful little voice “Thank you Daddy” … and he waddled off to play with toys. I smiled, yet I knew he was mimicking either myself, Mummy, or even his older brother. It’s the best way to teach them – by example.

